Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Tyler A. Stratman
    Participant
    #40400 |

Whoa… guess the forum-digging begins!
    At age 19, I am Smell Music and I’ve been working with house music for the past three years… I remember when I was out at a new friends’ house and I saw these cryptic electronic devices seemingly marginalized in the corner of his basement, and they turned out to be the CDJ’s I used to learn my way around the feel of house.

Nowadays I work with an old school Pioneer DJM-500 and CDJs 500 and 100 for my mixing projects. I was inspired by artists like Loco Dice, Kolsch, and Seth Troxler, because of their intense creativity and ability to defy the traditional “house” template and still keep the energy alive, perhaps even amplifying it. I love finding new tracks with jazzy chord structure and offbeat rhythms that really mess with your stream of thought.